Nowadays, some employers think that formal academic qualifications are more important than life experience or personal qualities when they look for new employees. Why is it the case? Is it positive or negative development?

In today’s highly competitive market, academic professions are considered as one of the most significant factors than hands-on experience by some seekers when they seek new candidates. Although there are some debations about this trend, I hold a stern belief that it has a positive movement.

To begin with, There are several underlying reasons to explain why some recruiters spend the majority of top priorities for employees, who have academic qualifications in gaining employment. Firstly, The acquisition of knowledge is the key to better career prospects, so having access to tertiary education is a life-changing opportunity for many students and formal qualification is more deserved in a knowledge-based society. For example, A person needs to have an expertise qualification to be a successful doctor as well as a great deal of medical knowledge, have a deeper comprehension of their field. On top of that, they can be committed to prestigious hospitals or retained in universities to transmit knowledge through their accumulated experience. Compared to non-academic qualifications, it undermines excessive time and can be used in other valuable ways.

Moreover, With the advent of latter-day technologies and the AI ever-changing process, It is a double-edged sword for candidates as well as very difficult to have an equal competition between non-academic qualifications and academic ones. A typical example can be seen in the case of Steve Jobs, the founder of Apple, who was the most successful person in the technological industry without holding any formal education in this field. However, it is not synonymous with the notion that anyone is also successful and it seems to be very scarce, a non-academically qualified candidate must be superior hands-on experiences or certain achievements in a specific field, thereby, they might be a potential position in an international organizations or prestigious corporations, where ten applicants are signed in, just one of which meet all the criteria they need. Therefore, Fulfilling the dream of high-salary jobs or career prospects without academic qualification is more illusory in a knowledge-based society.

In conclusion, Whether you have hands-on experience or talented qualities, acceptance rates in a high-salary job might inevitably decrease, and I hold fast to the belief that some job recruiters have some biased opinions about those who have formal academic qualifications.