Nowadays some older people choose to live in retirement communities with other people, rather than living with their adult children. Is it a positive or negative development?

It is observed that these days few individuals select to live in retirement communities and centres with other inhabitants instead of living with their young juveniles. I consider it a positive trend, and points will be discussed in the upcoming paragraphs.

To commence with the constructive development, the first and foremost aspect is quality time. In other words, in this modern era, people are extremely busy in their lives earning money, and in such cases, if the older generation lives in retirement centres, they get to spend quality time with people of their same age and engage in recreational activities. For instance, a survey conducted by the WHO World Health Organization) in 2021 revealed that Gray-haired multitudes living in centres were found to be more active than those living with their families. Therefore, it would be beneficial for people in order to enjoy every stage of their life.

Furthermore, another point for this positive development is the availability of better facilities. To elaborate this, in retirement communities and centres, every kind of professional service, including doctors and nurses, is available, which prevents situations related to emergencies and other services concerned with food.

For example, an article was published in the famous newspaper The Hindustan Times in 2019, which showed that registration in retirement communities increased by 40% in India when people became aware of the facilities available at those places. Hence, these centres would be an effective way to promote physical and mental health.

In conclusion, the increase in the interest of individuals in living in retirement communities and centres, rather than living with adult children, is helpful not only in establishing strong relationships with others but also in maintaining physical and mental fitness.