Nowadays, the development of technology has allowed computers and mobiles to translate language automatically. Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

It is undeniable that there has been an ongoing trend towards technological advances that has allowed computers and mobiles to have language translated automatically. While this has admittedly produced errors, I would contend that these are overshadowed by several certain benefits including fast translation and diverse languages.

On the one hand, electronic translators may face some negative effects. Chief among these is that machine translations are likely to have a low accuracy. This is because there are thousands of words carrying different meanings based on the counterparts that the words are used, which is generally cited as a major obstacle for robotic translators since they cannot fully comprehend context compared to their human counterparts. Coupled with this is grammar which includes sentence patterns as well as different sets of rules, meaning that this linguistic feature can even complicate the issue. For example, a simple sentence in English consists of a subject, a verb, and is often coupled with an object, yet not every language shares the same structure.

However, I am convinced that the idea of having language automatically translated by state-to-the-art tools may confer several certain benefits in terms of speed and a variety of languages. Regarding the former, the artificial translation machine is capable of transferring language capacity within minutes or even seconds, which means that it is considered as a functional tool for many time-limited conversations and brief summaries. Additionally, when it comes to the latter, despite producing minor grammar errors, those convenient high-tech softwares marginalize users to flexibly hold multiple languages whenever they are. A prime example is Google Translator, as it can constantly recognize and translate up to one hundred languages, thus being used basically throughout the world.

In conclusion, although machine translation software may produce less accurate texts, faster translation and flexibility of a wide range of language options it can offer are inevitably convenient. As such, I am of the opinion that this development, on the whole, is far more advantageous.