Nowadays, women as well as men work full time. Therefore, women and men should share household tasks equally. (e.g. cleaning and looking after children). To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, the responsibility for making money lies with both males and females, so purportedly, domestic chores should be shared equally among them in a family. Though I do agree that even distribution is essential, yet it is not always the case.

It is true that besides familial responsibilities, both have their own careers to pursue and pool time and other resources. Over-commitment to household tasks may eat into people’s time and dedication at work, thereby significantly reducing their productivity and even destroying professional relationships. Seemingly, it would be unfair if one had to sacrifice personal benefits for their partner in this world. Unlike the distant past where men were the symbol of masculinity and women embodied subservience, modern society also marks the abolition of such previously ingrained prejudices regarding gender. For instance, in countries namely China, Japan and South Korea, men used to be regarded as fragile once they were seen washing clothes or tidying up houses. However, males and females now can swap their roles in a family, and doing housework or taking on childcare responsibilities are widely normalized.

With that being said, a rigid application of equality in marriage or any other arrangements can incur unwanted conflicts. There are times when one spouse fails to complete their chores; they have to work overtime to meet the company’s deadlines or are seriously ill, for instance. In these cases, if the other keeps the score and lets those household tasks undone, acrimonious arguments, ‘cold war’ and even break-up can ensue. Hence, equal division of housework does little to nothing to secure the long-lasting happiness of a family. Instead, it is compassion, empathy and negotiation that contribute to the sustainability of it. This can be particularly seen when one partner is bed-ridden for a long time, and the other is willing to assume all the responsibilities, both at work and at home, to fill in their partner’s shoes. Such tolerance and dedication to each other are the true embodiment of love, rather than any equality on principle.

All things considered, with the elimination of sexist prejudices, males and females nowadays can swap their roles and share their work equally in the family. However, it is my firm belief that this even division is not the foundation of sustained love. Rather, happiness should stem from mutual understanding and sincere emotions.