Nowadays, women as well as men work full time. Therefore, women and men should share household tasks equally. (e.g. cleaning and looking after children). To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, both men and women are working full time in most countries. Some people believe that it is also important to take equal responsibilities for household tasks. Personally, I strongly agree with this idea as it supports gender equality and represents the real definition of a family.

From social point of view, justice and gender equality means equal responsibilities and tasks regardless of individual’s gender. Back in the days, it is the men’s obligation to finance the family whereas the women complete all the work at home. However, the idea is outdated. Today female individuals are sharing the financial responsibility by working 9-5. Therefore, the household tasks should also be shared, too. It would be unfair for the wife to do the dishes, mop and look after the children while the husband just sits on the couch after the same hours of working.

Additionally, a family is not a group of people co-existing. It is the term for people who share and overcome emotional and physical burdens under the same roof. And all the members of a family should feel equality and happiness. According to a recent survey, the couples who share both financial burdens and domestic chores have 77% less arguments and fights compared to those who do not. Less conflicts represent happier and healthier relationships. Hence, while both genders are financially supporting, completing house chores together (e.g. while the woman is cooking, the man can either do the dishes or take care of the baby) is also a crucial part of being a family.

To conclude, taking full household responsibilities alone while working full time can lead to injustice and gender inequality as well as countless conflicts. Therefore, I firmly stand with the idea that the domestic tasks should be shared without the influence of one’s gender