Nowadays, young people communicate with friends and family through mostly social network sites, rather than other ways of communication like talking on the phone or face to face. Do you think it is a positive or negative development? Give some reason for your answer.

In today’s era, young individuals like us, use social networking sites as the most influencial mode of keeping in touch with friends and families, instead of traditional communication methods such as over phone calls or face to face interactions. Although, soical networking methods are more efficient and pular these days, I believe it has negative impacts as it is lowering human interactions and may become a reason emotional instability.

To begin with, considering the positive side, social networking platforms have made communication faster and efficient. It allows young people to send messages, pictures and videos to their friends and tamilies instantly. These sites prove to be useful for families separated by distance, who are enabled to keep in contact easily at lower costs. In addition to this, social sites allow communication with multiple people at a single time, also allowing shy individuals to communicate with ease, which might be difficult for them face to face. For instance, it is a good source of communication for people studying abroad and have to keep up with their close ones at distance.

On the contrary, social networking through online platforms is harmful for personal relationships as excessive dependence on them can lead to lack of emotional connection between individuals as they cannot validate eachother through facial expressions and body language, hence making relations less meaningful. Furthermore, young people are using social media more than real life interactions which is giving rise to the issues such as isolation, anxiety, loneliness and depression.

In conclusion, social platforms may provide convenience and ease, they are however giving rise to social negativity in individual’s fragile personality that would otherwise be positively groomed if face to face human interactions are promoted.