one of the consequences of improved technology is that many jobs used to be done by people can now be completed by the robots or computers. Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge.

As more funds are being invested in modern medicine, there are more advances in life expectancy. One of the outbringing worries this has arisen is the impact that people’s longer life will have on the world. In case humans’ life keeps increasing, mantaining old people could became a serious problem for future generations. I believe that improvements in medicine should not stop, but rather be made along with an increase in new offspring.

One of the positives that research in medicine provides is the cure of more illnesses that previously were considered deadly. For instance, until the year 1910 where vaccines were discovered, a simple flu would kill annually more than a million people. This advances made by several medical researchers not only tackled to cure common deadly viruses but also provided more understanding of the mechanisms that our body has in order to defense itself, to the extent that nowadays there are even some research aiming at finding a cure to the cancer.

On the other hand, drawbacks and issues emerged due to the constant improvement in the health of the people. The most concerning one is the fact that an old population can’t be mantained only by a small young working segment. As an example, the government of Japan, a country well known for its high life expectancy, is considering migration as a future duable option so to be able to maintain his old native population. Japan is only one of the many examples where its demography will become a serious problem in the near future.

All in all, advancements in the medical field can’t be stopped as population is expecting more pills and vaccines in order to cure their illnesses. The trend in the increase of life can therefore be seen as inevitable. The real solution to this problem, in my opinion, is the correct distribution of the demography of the population, because old people’s maintenance has to be supported by an energetic young working class.