One result of advances in medical care is that life expectancy has increased around the world. Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

One of the consequences of developments in medical care is that the longevity has risen across the globe. I believe advantages of it surpasse the disadvantages.

On the one hand, the increase in lifespan of people means that more lives are being saved due to innovations in health care. Furthermore, this also means that many diseases are being eradicated, which is overall a good achievement. As humans begin their quest to live longer, they are also evolving as a society at a much greater pace. How is that? If people live longer— especially geniuses who can sustain their intelligence — they can contribute more to humanity. It can also be taken into account that younger people will get more time to spend with elders and benefit from their experience.

On the other hand, a rise in life expectancy will burden taxpayers as this will warrant more welfare schemes for the elderly. In addition to this, there are people who would rather their lives end peacefully than suffer chronic pain or diseases that are common in old age. Consequently, no matter how long our lives extend, all humans are subjected to senility at one point or another. While modern advances in science can render the body more usable, there has been little improvement in the field of mental health for aged people.

In conclusion, the duration of life has indeed increased in recent years, and it certainly has some disadvantages. Thoug, in my opinion, its benefits overshadow its harms. Moreover, further research and breakthroughs have the potential to offset those few disadvantages.