Organized tour to remote areas and community is increasingly popular. Is it a positive or negative development for the local people and the environment?

Scheduled tours to remote places and communities are starting to be popular currently. This phenomenon may bring a positive development for the local people and the local environment with new jobs emerging and deforestation reducing.

To begin with, organized travels to distant places can make the local people there get a new job. They can gain income from providing variant services for the tourists by renting transportation, hotels, and selling local souvenirs. For instance, in Borneo, most of the Dayak people are already leaving their past jobs that depend on natural sources. The arrival of foreigners in Borneo is utilized by them to make a new way of gaining money, letting their traditional home to be leased for staycation purposes.

On the other hand, deforestation can also be reduced by organized tours in remote areas and communities. With the existence of new jobs that dwell in the aspect of hospitality, local individuals will likely to embrace those new opportunities, leaving natural sources such as trees to be unbothered. An excellent example can be seen in Borneo again, where its deforestation is down to 50% after the government opened up tourism opportunities for traveling agencies. Most of the local people there, who previously worked as wood cutters, turned into hospitality providers for tourists as it is more profitable.

In conclusion, tours that are being organized to distant areas and communities is a positive development for both the local people and their environment. By considering the opportunity for new jobs and reduced deforestation, this innovation is something that is worth continuing.