Our personalities are predetermined as a result of our genes before we are born and there is nothing that can be done to alter our character traits to what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many individuals argue that we cannot amend our character features due to our genes which were prearranged before we born. I completely disagree with this tendency to a large extent and think that it also depends on our surrounding, communities and private experience.

On the one hand, the research shows that genes play essential role in building characteristics. In other words, we can adopt inclinations from our parents or close relatives. For instance, aspects of character, acquiring knowledge and skills on geminis have genetic bases. Thus, it means our traits of character able to determine certain attributes and temperament features.

On the other hand, character traits are not shaped by genetics completely. Firstly, despite the genetic influence, our environment, upbringing and life experience also play a key role in the development and manifestation of personality traits. For example, even if someone is naturally prone to anxiety, the support of family and friends, as well as personal efforts to manage stress, can assist this person cope with anxiety. Secondly, we have the opportunity to actively impact on our own development through psychotherapy, personal growth and purposeful attempts.

To gives example, a lot of human beings work on yourself by visiting the psychological centers and practicing deep meditation and breathing. Hence, we can alter our characteristics by self development and choosing the right communities.