overpopulation is the world's most serious environmental problem to what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement

Overpopulation has always been one of the serious problems for society and the world’s environment. Many even consider it the world’s most serious environmental problem that is harming the earth and human living space. Although overpopulation may cause negative effects on the environment, the real problem is how people choose to live their lives. In the following paragraphs, both views will be discussed.

First of all, overpopulation will definitely cause a lot of problems. More and more people equal more and more pollutants will be generated. The modern lifestyle with convenient technologies and facilities produce an enormous amount of waste and pollution that affect the world’s environment in many ways. As the world becomes more and more populated, the amount of pollution generated will keep increasing. It will directly affect the earth’s environment and will create uncontrollable effects on human and other animals’ living space.

However, the world’s population hasn’t been increasing as much recently. In recent years, the pandemic and many other disasters have taken away so many lives around the world. Moreover, many populated and developed countries have recorded a decrease in giving birth for many years, such as South Korea, China, America, the majority of Europe,… It happens due to economic problems and the LGBTQ movements in those countries make their birth rate reduce. Many of the above countries even predict a decrease in the total population of their country in the next 50 years. On the other hand, the main reason responsible for the bad effects of the world’s environment is the way people choose to live. If we take more responsibility to recycle and use more public transportation, it will reduce the waste and pollution that could be thrown into the environment. Furthermore, if countries come together to reduce the amount of CO2 produced by human activities, we could possibly slow down global warming. It is us choosing what we should do to the earth, to where we are living.

In conclusion, overpopulation is one of the reasons for environmental problems, but it’s not the greatest one. Even though overpopulation will generate more wastes and pollutants into the environment, if we come together to make a change in our lifestyle, the problem could be solved.