Parents should encourage teenagers to get a part-time job in their free time. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

One school of thought holds that young people should be motivated by their parents to engage in part-time employment in their spare time. From my perspective, I strongly agree with that opinion and argue that working part-time brings many benefits for teenagers.

First, when young people have employment while still in school, they can improve their personal skills. They can learn soft skills while doing some employment because of communicating with other people such as managers or colleagues and working in a team. This leads to becoming more professional and proficient in interpersonal skills. For example, when they work as a waitress in a hotel, they can improve their speaking ability to customers, and learn how to be patient with other people. However, if they do not have any part-time work, they will spend more time to play games or social media. That is negative for their development of brains and health.

Furthermore, working part-time may help them to learn financial management. Adolescents can learn to respect money and manage it easily through the experience of part-time employment. This can help them to save for college and make early investments. The result is that young people can become more responsible and forward-thinking. By contrast, when becoming adults, they might waste money on unnecessary purchases which can lead to an unstable life in the future.

In conclusion, I completely support that teenagers should work some part-time job and parents should motivate them. It helps children learn more useful skills for their life such as time-management skills, or money-management skills.