People are responsible for their happiness. Others feel happiness depends on other factors in their life. Discuss both views and give your opinion?

Many believed they are held accountable for their own contentment as they are the one controlling their mindsets, while the opposing views acknowledge the fact that people nowadays prioritise the aftermath of an issue, thus impacting their overall happiness. This essay will provide views from both sides in detail and give the writer’s perspective in this matter.

To commence, people themselves are the one responsible for their own outlook. This is owing to the fact that if one were having a positive mindset towards a predicament, one can seek fulfilment as the individual tend to look on the bright side. For instance, an optimistic person who consider a Hercules task from work as a chance to prove their capability is likely to achieve happiness even before obtaining success in any form, thanks to them being grateful of the opportunity given from the company, rather than eyeing on the triumph the work comes by. Consequently, the person will be easily fulfilled in life, hence being content with what he or she achieve and possess currently.

On the other hand, the fact that the contemporary society prioritise the beneficial outcome after handling an issue, carving them to only feel happiness if they are compensated in any form. Under normal circumstances, people can only be fulfilled if they were given monetary compensation or power and influence. This is due to people currently lives in a competitive world where only their financial ability reflects the social status and their category in the societal hierarchy. On top of that, the ability to control and influence others might also be a channel to satisfy their ego, which intricately brings happiness, even though being inappropriate in public’s eyes. As a result, the public will do anything by all means in an attempt to pursue the “happiness” they longing for.

In conclusion, people can seek fulfilment by having an optimistic mentality towards a task so that they can have a positive viewpoint, which is distinctive from the ordinary. While monetary and power fulfilment can also lead to happiness, the method of acquiring it might be socially unacceptable as people prioritise the benefits it brings only. In my perspective, people ought to be in control of their happiness by being an optimist, in order to achieve the happiness they perceived to be.