People eat more processed food than they did in the past. Why is this? What are the effects of this?

Many individuals consume processed food more often than before. This is largely due to the busier lifestyles demanded by the modern world, which can lead to various health problems.

The reason people eat more processed food compared to the past is that they have tight daily schedules. Social and work life become more hectic than ever, failing to keep up may cause the person to lose their friends or jobs, particularly in large cities where processed food is mainly consumed. Consequently, eating has become something that they have to do, rather than to enjoy, leading to the need for consuming what is quick and easily accessible. For instance, in major cities, rather than cooking food from home, most adult workers can be seen buying fast food for themselves because it is less effort and time-saving, so they can get back to work as soon as possible.

On the other hand, various health issues could develop from this behavior. Processed food often contains preserved chemicals and is high in sugar and trans-fat. As a result, people may get overweight, which then will lead to problems such as obesity and cardiac issues. As evidence, most of the public reported cardiac arrest cases are from consuming too much processed food, which increases the excessive fat storing inside the body, especially within the blood vessels and stops the blood flow to the heart.

To summarize, people are eating more processed food than in the past due to the busy modern lifestyle which requires quick and readily available food. This is leading to multiple chronic health issues such as obesity and heart disease.