People nowadays sleep less than they used to in the past. What do you think is the reason behind this? What are the effects on individuals and people around them?

Sleep deprivation has become an epidemic in recent years, with people allocating fewer hours to a healthy, uninterrupted sleep. Among many reasons for this development, the primary one is people’s desire to outcompete others in various realms, including education and employment. As for the effects of this tendency, health and productivity concerns are the most evident, both on an individual and societal level.

People are now living in a period of increased competition, mainly because of overpopulation and elevated standards. There are more people to compete with, and this realization makes an increased number of individuals dedicate more time to studies and work, often sacrificing hours of sleep. It is not uncommon to notice one sleeping for 4-5 hours a day instead of a healthy 7-8 hours, but the truth is without this additional dedication, it is less likely for many of these people to accomplish their goals, whether it is entering a prestigious university or climbing up the career ladder.

Although a sleep-deprived lifestyle can help individuals achieve personal and communal goals, there is a scientifically proven adverse impact on their health. As a whole, sleep is an intricate process that consists of four stages and relies on patterns that a person should follow to remain fit. Any type of sleep imbalance can lead to minor and major health issues ranging from insomnia to obesity and even dementia.

While it seems that sleep-deprivation is a personal problem, in reality it is changing social dynamics and commonly accepted norms. People falling asleep in public transport as well as overreliance on caffeine and energy drinks are not unique occurrences anymore. People’s productivity is also compromised as lack of quality sleep can prevent one from efficiently completing assignments during the day.

In summary, people are entering a new era of fierce competition, but they are doing so by willingly sacrificing their health. We are therefore likely to witness increases in health-related issues that sleep deprivation can cause, making us doubt the justification of lost sleeping hours.