People tend to work longer hours nowadays. Working long hours has a negative effect on themselves, their families and the society so working hours should be restricted. Do you agree or disagree?

It is undeniable working hours are on the rise; it affects the individuals, their relatives, and the community as a whole. Therefore, I agree with the proposal of limiting working hours.

There are several reasons why we should limit working hours. In my opinion, the reason is that employee’s health is negatively affected both physical and mental health. As we can see, a few decades ago, there used to be only 8 hours of working in a day, but now, it has been increasing to ten or even fourteen hours of work. Spend too much time working, people tend to suffer from various health issues like fatigue to even more serious problems like anxiety disorder or stroke. Falling health contributes to low productivity and working accidents. For instance, working overtime makes us burnt out, and as a result, we will be not conscious enough to deal with all the working tasks or easily make errors at work.

I also think that working long hours has serious consequences for family and community. To begin with, workers could not spend time taking care of their families, hence they no longer get on well with family members. For example, my brother often comes back home late because of his busy schedule at work, therefore, he doesn’t have time to play or talk with his children. This leads to the distance between the father and child has widened. In addition, overworked people do not devote more time to voluntary activities like distributing food to the homeless and so on that are beneficial to society.

In conclusion, overworking has negative impacts on workers, their families, and society. As a result, I believe that working hours should be restricted.