Plastic containers have become more prevalent than ever. They are used in many businesses such as in the food and beverage sector. Do you think the advantages outweigh disadvantages?

Plastic containers are mostly used in numerous businesses including food and drinks department. As a result, they have become more ubiquitous than in the past. This shift has more drawbacks, which are associated with environmental impact and harm to wildlife.

To begin with, it is crucial to acknowledge the effect of plastic goods on environment, as it considers as one of the major polluters. The reason behind this is that plastic containers are various in type, and not all of them are recyclable. Moreover, nowadays, plastic recycling has not reached required level yet. In addition, the use of containers increased dramatically because of their convenience, mostly in food courts and delivery services. Consequently, their impact on environment become pervasive, damaging the oceans, quality of air, and soil. For instance, with the waste increase, the artificial island appeared in the world’s ocean, which entirely consists of plastic commodities. With regard to air pollution, the production and incineration of plastic release toxic gases and greenhouse emissions, leading to climate changes. As for soil, plastics buried in landfills leach noxious chemicals, affecting plant growth and groundwater. Furthermore, microplastics are notorious for their longevity, as they accumulate in the land ecosystem, disrupting nutrient cycles.

Turning to the remaining detriment, animals can mistake plastic pieces for food or even get trapped in them and get injured, as well as die. One case in point is sea turtle; this marine animals are often being found by people off the coast with many pieces of plastic both on their body and stomach. The turtles cannot digest and end up starved. This tragic instance shows how plastic threatens marine life.

In conclusion, although plastic offers practicality and durability, their damage outweigh benefits because they are linked with environment.