Prison is the best punishment for criminals. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement

Jail is considered the finest place for lawbreakers to serve their punishment. This essay strongly agrees with this statement because this is where they can rehabilitate themselves and also be beneficial to society.

To begin, the way how prison functions is that it offers educational programs, vocational training, and counseling services such as life skills classes, job training, and substance abuse treatment to help the convicted address the foremost causes that contribute to their criminal behaviour. For example, if a person is convicted of theft and sentenced to prison, in his time serving in prison, he will receive rehabilitation and educational opportunities where he will be taught the correct values, preventing him from reoffending the crime. This intervention is sought to promote personal growth and reduce the likelihood of them recommitting the crime.

Furthermore, imprisonment is beneficial to society by ensuring public safety with criminals separated from the general population. Take a serial killer as an example, if he is convicted for his crime and not sent to jail, he could have continued his crimes and continued murdering; however, by removing him from the public, this could prevent the serial killer from continue causing harm, hence securing public safety.

However, some say that community services are more effective in dealing with low-risk criminals. They fare better with probation rather than detention, suffering less from applying jobs and other aspects of life in their post-probation life. These schemes are also cheaper to run. Nonetheless, separating serious and repeat offenders do ensure protection

In conclusion, although it is true that alternative punishment seems more useful to low-risk offenders and they are less costly. I firmly support the statement that prison is the best punishment for criminals because it allows lawbreakers to learn the correct values of society, which helps them restart their lives afterward, and it separates people who committed serious crimes from society.