"Putting criminals into prisons is not an effective way to deal with them. Instead, education and job training should be offered." To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is no room for doubt that, in this contemporary society, crime prevention is one of the most important parts. In deed, one topic that, to an extent, has raised worldwide controversy is whether criminals should be put in jail or society should give them an opportunity to be educated. In my opinion, everything has two different sides, like a coin with two facets, and this is true for this essay.

On the one hand, law-breakers should be put behind bars because social order will surely be protected. The first thing is that this action will totally create safety for society. Clearly, no one wants to live in the same place with a criminal. For instance, imagine that I am living in a neighborhood where a person has just committed a crime. No matter how severe the crime is, how can I live without worrying? Moreover, putting a criminal in prison can raise the awareness of “potential offenders” who intend to break the law. Obviously, if the government does not use any strict rules to punish the criminals, they will do everything they want, thinking no one can do anything to them. Consequently, it can be clearly seen that preventive measures can prevent those dangerous behaviors that are going to happen in human living environments.

On the other hand, having unfortunate living conditions is reason why people tend to break the law. In those cases, the government should give them second chances to be trained and educated again. To begin with, in this modern life, there is still remain so many unlucky and uneducated people forced into difficult situations with no exit, they can only commit a crime to solve their life problems. This is true for my old neighbor, a single father. He has to do a lot of hard work to raise and educate his three children. This is too difficult for him, so he decided to rob and is caught soon after , which is very pitiful for his children. From the case of this miserable father, we can clearly see that those people really need job training and re-education to change their perception and become people who respect the law and are useful to society.

In conclusion, this outstanding matter has sparked several opposing opinions about this statement. As far as I am concerned, there needs to be a combination of strict crime prevention measures and leniency depending on the level of crime.