"Putting criminals into prisons is not an effective way to deal with them. Instead, education and job training should be offered." To what extent do you agree or disagree?

A debate about the effectiveness of imprisonment is ongoing. I am of the opinion that rehabilitative practices can be more beneficial for both the offender and the innocent in the long term.

One of the strong points that support restorative justice is reconditioning the offender’s criminal behavior. To elaborate, putting convicts through counseling therapies can play a significant role in reforming their way of thinking and making them reflect on their wrongdoings, thus solving the root cause of the problem. Furthermore, job training provides practical support for prisoners when they are out of incarceration. Particularly, under strict supervision, they may learn skills related to handicraft or mechanics so that they can potentially make a living out of them and become productive members of society. For instance, in Norway, there have been multiple reports on decreased recidivism after inmates have undergone intensive rehabilitation programs.

Another merit to rehabilitation is ensuring safety for the innocent. After offenders have been rehabilitated, it is less likely that they will repeat the offense. Therefore, this would lend not only victims but normal citizens a sense of security when offenders are on parole because they have truly changed for the better. To illustrate, in Norway, there have been records of victims not being harmed again by former inmates because they have learnt to readapt to the outside world while in a reformatory. In comparison, in other countries like Colombia, victims are often reported to get attacked again by released prisoners since retributive justice is prioritized.

In conclusion, I am convinced that rehabilitation is better than punishment because once offenders have been reformed, they will be able to make an honest living and are less likely to avenge their victims or harm the innocent.