Q. Drug abuse is an increasing problem in modern times. Discuss some reasons behind this and suggest ways it can be hindered.

In order to address the problem of drug abuse and its causes, such as significant increases in drug addiction and the possibility of medication accidents. To accomplish this, the most practical solution would be to raise the threshold of pharmacies and lower the threshold of doctors’ doors.

These days, drug abuse is principally caused by problems within the pharmacy purchase system, such as increases in drug addiction and the possibility of medication accidents. This issue has occurred because people can purchase medicine easily without a doctor’s prescription. For example, in the United States, it is common to find people who go to pharmacies to buy drugs even though these medicines are too intense and require purchasers to consider consuming them carefully. Normally, the citizens should have a consultant from their doctors first, and then they decide whether to write prescriptions for them or not. Therefore, people believe all the advertisements of medicine companies that only show its effectiveness without any side effects. As a result of this, people are exposed to drug addiction and medical accidents due to its misuse.

To alleviate the widespread causes of drug misuse, the government should promote awareness about the risks of drug addiction and medication accidents. Lowering the threshold of the doctor’s door can help to relieve these causes. For instance, in Germany, people can buy some medicines through pharmacies whenever they want, but only week-level medicines. It means that people should have prescriptions from their doctors while receiving treatments, and consultants with them do not cost as much as people are concerned about. This shows that people feel more comfortable accessing doctors’ houses without financial burdens to take medicine suitably.

To conclude, the cases related to the problem of drug abuse can be sufficiently alleviated if people acknowledge the fact that society must formulate effective solutions.