Q. Drug abuse is an increasing problem in modern times. Discuss some reasons behind this and suggest ways it can be hindered.

It is true that cases of drug abuse are rapidly increasing nowadays. While this is a serious problem, it can be resolved by posing stringent regulation on drug abuse and showing danger of using illegal drugs.

The main cause of the rising incidence of drug abuse is that the rapid development of social media enables people to access to drugs easily more than before. In particular, most people who are addicted to drugs buy those drugs on the Internet. Using internet, it’s easy to access to seller and hinder the record of buyers. Furthermore, many addicted buyers easily became drug sellers to earn money to buy drugs. Therefore, the vicious cycle emerges in this drug industry, and it has become bigger and bigger. Recent news shows that there is an increase that people are exposed to drugs and this vicious cycle, struggling with the addiction.

However, there are a couple of ways to resolve this problem. Firstly, more stringent regulation is necessary. It is true that the extent of regulation is low than the extent that people don’t commit those crime, although some argue that it’s due to reveal not only retailer but also main sellers who sell huge amounts. People who sell as well as buy should be imprisoned. Also, showing danger of using illegal drugs may be effective for prevention from using drugs. For example, a singer who had been addicted to drug told his story. He underwent a mental disease and horrible insomnia because of drug addiction, leading to a devastation of daily life.

In conclusion, it is evident that the easy access to social media allows people to be exposed to drug addiction. Nevertheless, this issue can be resolved by more stringent regulation and strong caution for drug addiction.