Q. These days, more fathers stay at home and take care of their children, while mothers go out to work. What could be the reasons for this? Is this a positive or negative development?

Mothers who take charge of the breadwinner role while fathers are homemakers instead is a recently noticed phenomenon. This essay will elaborate on the key factors behind this anomaly and demonstrate reasons whenever this is a detrimental development or an enhancement..,

There are a number of factors responsible for this trend. One of the main reasons is that some household isn’t in need of nannies or relative’s help on taking care of their newborn, so instead one of the parents has to do the job. In many cases, the husband took the role of the homemaker since the wife has a higher-paid job, which maintain the family’s stable income. Another obvious motive for this is that the division of roles are allocated according to personal abilities and mutual agreement rather than gender stereotypes. Based on considerations, some fathers are capable of doing housework while providing their toddlers parental supervision both physically and mentally, whereas mothers who are dedicated to their jobs can continue following her dream while still be responsible for her family’s expenses.

From my perspective, rather than causing drawbacks, this shift has multiple advantages that benefits the household specifically and society generally. Regarding the first advantage, this phenomenon is breaking outdated norms, which support gender equality. Since every role are no longer expected to be taken by only male or female, this shift can create a greater social maturity. For instance, the term “housewife” is an old definition of women who lived as a homemaker, should no longer common since the modernization has expected the same qualities from men. Another main advantage is that since the household’s roles are divided by discussions and understanding, the trend can create a domestic harmony and a better environment for the children. Babies should grow up in a nurturing family where no one is forced to do their job, but committed to, therefore, they can be passively educated to become an individual that they wished to without negative effects.

In conclusion, several reasons can be given to explain why domestic roles are being reversed. However, various advantages can be derived from this phenomenon.