Q. These days, more fathers stay at home and take care of their children, while mothers go out to work. What could be the reasons for this? Is this a positive or negative development?

In recent years, there has been a notable increase in fathers staying at home to take on childcare responsibilities, while women pursue their professional developments. This shift can be attributed by social and economic factors, and I believe it is a positive development for parents and childrens.

First of all, more fathers engage in parental duties since most individuals have changed attitudes toward gender role. Governments have sustained gender-equality campaigns, which have broken various conventional stereotypes. As a result, fathers tend to become more egalitarian in their mindset and they are also willing to share houseworks with their partners, such as feeding their children, assisting schoolwork, and participating in school-related activities. In addition, women now are capable of performing jobs once dominated by men. For instance, in political and medical aspects, they are able to handle these demanding roles and perform well as they have more opportunities to gain large access to high education.

This trend may cause a considerable drawback for parents. They may initially struggle to face financial strain if fathers give up their consistent employment, which can lead to the reduction of their family incomes. However, this issue is largely offset when mother’s incomes is sufficient and their arrangement is thoughtfully planned. Therefore, this drawback can be tackled in the long-term. In contrast, stay-at-home fathers, this change benefits significantly to parents and children. When fathers become primary child caregivers, they can understand deeply the emotional and physical demands of childcare. Thus they mutually respect their wife and divide equally the labours. Moreover, their children can develop skills related to paternal influence, because their fathers usually encourage them to take part in problem-solving, risk-taking activities, contributing to their confidence, independence and good decision-making skills.

In conclusion, more fathers take on domestic responsibilities, whereas mothers focus more on their career due to the fore-mentioned reasons. From my perspective, the benefits of this shift surpass the disadvantages.