Research has shown that spending much less time in office can reduce the use of energy (for example, electricity, gas). Thus, some companies close for some days a week. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, it has been suggested that in some parts of the world, people have begun to realize that energy is everything. Apart from this, an experience found that people reduce energy use by spending more time in their workplace, although a number of companies reduce their working days in a week. In this essay, I will discuss the merits and demerits of this topic. I believe that the pros of this development outweigh the cons.

On the one hand, there are many advantages to closing offices for some days a week. First and foremost, it leads to a substantial reduction in office expenses in terms of electricity consumption, water waste, and fuel costs. Secondly, longer leisure time increases the productivity of employees and also encourages them. For example, except in the health sector and some emergency sectors in Bangladesh, the government reduced working days from 6 to 5, which has not only affected work efficiency but also saved energy. In other words, workers get extra weekends, which helps them spend time with family and friends. To exemplify the fact that spending time with family improves family bonding, which increases not only physical but also psychological well-being, extra days off help their staff spend time relaxing; this could recharge their bodies and make them more powerful and effective.

On the flip side, this shortened work week has a few disadvantages. Firstly, short weekdays decrease work output and reduce earning daily wages for employees. To express the fact that some companies have the target of achieving their goals within the given deadline, this policy could have detrimental effects on the company’s performance.

In conclusion, although there are minor disadvantages to this system, shorter work weeks can have greater benefits to individuals and society. It has been suggested that the government should apply this rule to all, which is beneficial to both people and the nation.