Research has shown that spending much less time in office can reduce the use of energy (for example, electricity, gas). Thus, some companies close for some days a week. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

Some businesses have implemented the policy of working more hours out of office, based on the research regarding the preservation of energy sources, which encourages people to use them wisely. This essay will examine the merits of this trend, since the policy has improved both environmental and work industries by inspiring people to spend more time on their personal interests, and making a paramount contribution to economies.

Since people have been allowed to work out of offices more, their well-being has improved dramatically. By spending fewer hours on commuting, employees have adjusted this time for leisure activities, giving themselves more time to restore. Consequently, it has beneficially affected their both mental health and productiveness at work. This can be explained by the neurological capacity to work efficiently having ample amount of rest, which ensures neurons activity and speed of biochemical transformations.

Not only does the preservation of energy enhance workers’ health and reduce their stress level, but it also contributes to business profits. Some successful companies, such as Google or YouTube, have become leaders in the global economy by taking into account the link between employees’ performance and businesses growth. Therefore, by offering more opportunities to rest and personal fulfilment, they have made them satisfied with jobs they do, thereby contributing to companies’ success.

To conclude, the policies implemented by some companies have contributed to different sectors of people’s lives, in particular, positively affecting environmental situation by saving more energy. However, another essential factors to consider lie in the improvement of individuals’ well-being and the stimulation of economic development. This makes this trend more of an advantage rather than a drawback.