Research has shown that spending much less time in office can reduce the use of energy (for example, electricity, gas). Thus, some companies close for some days a week. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

Some industries are observing particular days off a week as a study has concluded that a reduction in usage of energy is due to fewer working hours. There are both merits and demerits to this, but the benefits are greater than its drawbacks. Both are discussed in the following paragraphs.

Spending less time in the office is beneficial in several ways. Firstly, if the companies remain shut for some days in a week, there will be a reduction in electricity consumption as no machinery will be working too, and thus power supply will not be needed. For example, machinery like computers, production belts, and conveyors will remain off, which will eventually result in less electricity consumption.

Furthermore, carbon emissions will reduce to some extent. On the days off, employees will not be visiting their companies, so they will not be using vehicles for transportation. This will lead to less pollution than usual. Moreover, a decrease in the use of electricity and gas will result in less strain on the power grid. Hence, there will be a reduction in power shortages, blackouts, and short circuits.

On the contrary, keeping the organization close for some days a week will make it face certain drawbacks, like an extension in deadlines, a delay in work, and eventually the company will have to compromise with profit. These can be potential wastage of energy from restarting machines all over again, which can lead to more consumption of energy.

To conclude, although having some days off a week has some drawbacks, the advantages, like a reduction in electricity consumption and lesser carbon footprints, are more comprehensive. Therefore, it is suggested that organizations should remain closed for some days a week to reduce usage of energy.