Research shows that some activities are good for health and others are bad. Despite knowing that, millions of people engage in unhealthy activities. What is the cause of this? What can be done?

Despite being informed about the negative and positive effects of the activities on health, millions of people continue doing unhealthy activities. While this tendency causes several undesirable consequences, they can be addressed in several ways.

On the one hand, there are two issues that may arise when people continue doing negative activities. The major issue is psychological stress and instant gratification. Most bad activities lead to instant gratification, while the positive effects of healthy activities come with time. The human brain chose that thing, which give quick dopamine effect, even when a person understands the disadvantages of the action. As a result, people will be tend to doing negative actions, like eating fast foods, smoking, and other actions. Another cause of this problem is social and environmental influences. People often copy habitsfrom their environment: family, friends, co-workers. If a person lives in an environment where there is a lot of stress, for a short time, many people eat unhealthy foods, and don’t do the exercises, it will be hard for them, even if they have knowledge.

In order to deal with such problems, there are potential solutions that can be implemented. One effective approach is increase motivation through knowledge and practice. Although knowing and distinguishing them are important, people have to understand how to use it in real life. This helps to turn knowledge into real actions. For example, free training, marathons, and specialist consultations. Another solution is creating a healthy environment around a person, which will help stop doing unhealthy actions. For instance, cutting of fast food, visiting with a supportive group: family, friends.

In conclusion, the causes of doing unhealthy actions can be driven by different factors. These problems can be solved by changing the environment and using the knowledge in practice.