Research shows that some activities are good for health and others are bad. Despite knowing that, millions of people engage in unhealthy activities What is the cause of this? What can be done?

Scientists concluded that physical exercises are crucial for human health, but there are unhealthy activities also. Although, people know benefits and drawbacks of both, they mostly choose the latter one. While this situation can be attributed to the confluence of practical and emotional factors. I believe that authorities and individuals should take necessary steps to address this issue.

Majority are engaged to unhealthy activities, because it is easier and gives higher rate of dopamine – the hormone of happiness. Spending leisure time with watching TV, eating fast food or playing games does not require physical activity or can be done without leaving the comfort zone. Moreover, these activities always have high rate of dopamine, therefore person tries to do it often. Over time, this lack of exercise and felling of happiness, when unhealthy action is done, becomes habit and prevents to take actions when person wants to. For instance, in 2021, when pandemics limited our opportunities to do physical actions, like jogging, doing pull ups or just walking around, majority started watching funny and meaningless videos on the internet. These mistake led to lack of discipline in later life, people often quitted after one day or two days of training.

This problem must to be solved, as the later ignorance of the issue can lead to obesity among citizens. Steps to address this situation should start from government. Local authorities can build new training playgrounds with pull-up bars and dumbbells to engage people in physical exercises. Moreover, inviting diet experts and trainers can solve the problem. These specialists can talk about the downsides of not doing workouts and how to start and progress in this field. US government, for example, reduced the rate of obesity in their country, just by drawing lines for bikers and runners at the edge of the roads. These influenced people to start jogging when they see this stripes. Furthermore, authorities frequently organize marathons, and notify citizens several months before the event. In most cases, people start training to take part and win in this competition.

To sum up, even though people like to waste their time doing unnecessary and unhealthy stuff, authorities can take an action to prevent and solve this issue.