School teachers are more responsible for the social and intellectual development of students than parents. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Educators at schools play a more significant role in the growth of the social and cognitive skills of children when compared to the role of their parents. I entirely agree with this notion for some reasons related to teachers’ qualifications .

Regarding the development of social skills, teachers continue to prove that the impact of their experience usually exceeds that of the parents’ affection. Certainly, the environment in which children are raised at schools resembles real life that children are expected to experience later in their adulthood; therefore, the experience of teachers immensely contributes to raising a more socially intelligent child. For example, students are often exposed to different classes of people with a myriad of varying backgrounds and are taught by their instructors how to deal with everyone differently. If children are not instructed by teachers regarding how to tackle the common social problems such as peer pressure and bullying, children will most probably develop negative social experiences that are likely to result in their suffering later in life.

As for gaining intellectual skills, again the teachers’ effect on children at schools surpass that of parents. Although parents play a vital role in the upbringing of their children, they are not qualified enough to provide their children with knowledge. In fact, the teacher’s primary role is to impart knowledge and stimulate the students’ intelligence. In other words, the mentor’s qualifications, instructions and continuous assessment ensure that children would gain adequate academic skills such as logical thinking and well-developed reasoning abilities. As a result, a student’s level of knowledge is in great part dependent on their teacher’s level, and many teachers are often considered by the child as a role model.

To recapitulate, the teachers’ responsibility is more crucial in developing the social and intellectual skills of children. Not only do teachers have specialised experience, but also schools provide a conducive learning environment.