Scientists predict that all people will choose to talk the same global language in the future. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

It is true that as some languages are becoming dominant, it is, therefore, expected by scientists that people will prefer communicating in the same language globally. I believe that this trend is largely a change for the better, even though it can have some unfavorable outcomes.

To start, it is essential to acknowledge some negative aspects of talking in one global language. The main consequence of this trend would be loss of diversity. This is simply because the extinction of minority languages can lead to lack of traditions, diminishing cultural heritage. Another downside is loss of identity. To be more precise, many languages are connected with identity and culture; a global language might cause issues as people see their language less valued. For example, they can lose their sense of identity and a sense of pride in their native language if they interact in the same language.

Despite having some downsides, dominance of one language is largely a positive trend. The primary advantage of this is enhanced communication. That is, individuals can interact with their foreign counterparts, experiencing diverse cultures and improving social interaction. For example, they can engage in meaningful conversations with people from different backgrounds and can exchange fruitful ideas and cultural differences, leading to cultural awareness and appreciation. Aside from this, a global language can enhance opportunities in both business and academia. English, for instance, is becoming a lingua franca and can often open up more opportunities for people to expand their business by sharing business ideas with others as well as for academic purposes.

In conclusion, having considered both sides of the issue, I am now more convinced that it is a favorable development.