Shopping is becoming more and more popular as a leisure activity. However, some people feel that this has both positive and negative effects. Why is shopping so popular? What effects does its increase in popularity have on individuals and on society? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

Shopping as an indulgence has gained popularity amongst the masses over time. Some see it as a boon while others opine that it may bring harm to the commoner. This essay shall shed some light upon the question; why do we spend money to cure the insatiable need for consumer goods & the dangerous path it is leading us towards as a collective.

In the fast paced world of today, people find little time for themselves outside of the constraints of work-related, familial & societal responsibility. Meanwhile, they are constantly bombarded with innumerable stimuli which call out to their innate need for self gratification. The poor soul is helpless against the advertisements and trends made by media houses, which are explicitly put to this task by corporate giants. Certainly, small businesses and their dependants can benefit from these habits and it is great as a socializing exercise with our friends,loved ones and the local communities, but living in an environment like this may have catastrophic results for and individual.

We hear of an increasing number of young people falling into debt due to unhealthy purchase habits. A lack of restraint developed over a period of time coupled with the constant need to keep up with everybody around forces them to keep spending money to acquire all that which may elevate their status in society. What we fail to realize is that this pushes us all into a destructive cycle where we all end up with supposed “status symbols” and an inflated sense of value for truly meaningless “stuff”.

In conclusion, the market does help us to earn a living and provides us with an opportunity to meet new people and catch up with loved ones but we can not ignore the underlying problems it creates with the exploitation of cognizant devices by well oiled financial giants