Some argue that music mainly serves as a way for individuals to reduce their stress and anxiety. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Music is renowned for its ability to convey emotions. It’s not just a form of entertainment for listeners, it can also be a powerful force that triggers a range of emotions, including happiness, sadness, regret, and more. Although some people believe that music is primarily used to alleviate mental distress, I disagree with this notion.

People listen to music for various reasons. For most listeners, soothing music, such as classical, natural sounds, and upbeat tempos, can have a magical effect on their mental and emotional state that helps them escape from their problems and uplifts their mood. As a result, many people subscribe to digital music platforms like Spotify or iTunes, where they can access a vast library of music and create personalized playlists to suit their moods. The more they listen to destressing music, the more productive and tranquil they become. Music is an escape that helps them function well. However, not everyone responds to music in the same way. From a personal standpoint music can be a double-edged sword that exacerbates their emotional problems rather than alleviating them. Even optimistic tempo has no lasting effect to brighter their mood. Their relationship with music is complex and nuanced, and they have to find other ways to cope with their emotional struggles.

Whenever I listen to music, my emotions get intense. It triggers my apprehensiveness and melancholy. Dissimilar to the perspective of some people who are in favor of considering music a form of relaxation, my view on that is different. For instance, delicate music makes me feel even more distressed than I already do. It seems like every note transports me to an imaginary memory teeming with heartbreaks and regrets, as though the melodies are rummaging the inside of my head and restoring all the depressive memories that were buried long ago.

To me, the true purpose of music is to make us feel something in our hearts and trigger emotions. I have been listening to music of every genre, with the sole aim of being able to feel something that I have not had before, to understand my world.