Some argue that poor living conditions drive people to commit crimes, while others believe that it is the result of individuals' bad intentions. Discuss both views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include relevant examples from your knowledge or experience.

Some people claim that poor living conditions are the main reason for crimes, whereas there are those who believe that these actions are the consequences of people’s bad intentions. In my view, individuals would not commit crimes if they do not have to.

On one hand, as stated before, a number of people think that the characteristic features of criminals are the primary reason for crimes. From their perspective, these people are involved in such activities because they are not mentally stable, and they cannot evaluate the situation like an ordinary person. Furthermore, according to this group, people cannot be compelled to commit crimes if they have moral values as well. For example, in Turkey, a majority of people argue that they do not try to steal from their acquaintances because of their beliefs, which requires them to avoid from inappropriate actions.

On the other hand, despite these arguments, I firmly believe that individuals are heavily influenced by their surroundings in this matter. Firstly, it is undeniable that wealthy people are less likely to commit crimes because they would not like to lose their luxury lives, while destitute ones would even end the lives of their affluent relatives for their assets and valuables to enhance the quality of their living conditions, which would not occur if they were not below the absolute poverty point. For instance, according to recent research, a significant number of murders happen while the victim is being robbed or pickpocketed by the criminal. Moreover, these murderers state that they would not even consider touching a person if they had enough money to sustain their lives.

In conclusion, it is believed that people’s intentions are the cause of existing crimes due to aforementioned reasons, whereas in my opinion, bad living conditions are the problem because these individuals desire to improve their general welfare.