Some believe governments should spend more money on improving roads and highways, while others thank money should be spent on improving public transportation such as buses, trains and subways

People have argued about how the government should utilise their budgets on transportation areas. Some people think that the government should spend more money on developing streets and highways, while others believe that improving public transportations is the most important one. The following essay will discuss in details about it, but I do believe that both aspects are important and should be proportionately improved.

On the one hand, a group of people think that the government should focus on improving their street, road and highway facilities. They believe that public accesses are vital for the economic development of the respective country. Without the existence of qualified roads and highways, it will be difficult for industries to grow, as there will be some obstacles for the supply of raw materials and deliveries of goods. Consequently, it will impact on the efficiency of many companies and also to the government’s income tax.

On the other hand, other people think governments should spend more budgets on improving and maintaining public transportation such as buses, trains, aeroplanes and ferries. They believe that if the government could improve the quality of these mass transportation facilities, it will reduce traffic and air pollution problems. As public transportations become more convenient and safe, more people will use them, and it will gradually reduce the number of private vehicle users. As a consequent, it will reduce traffic congestion and reduce air pollution as well.

In conclusion, I personally believe that the government’s spending on public accesses and transportations are both essentials. And it becomes the government’s task to allocate those budgets proportionately for both areas since we could not focus on one area and abandoned the other. It would be useless for a country to have good public transportations, without the support of good roads and highways.