Some believe secondary students should learn International news as a subject at school, while others think it's a waste of time. Discuss both views and give your opinion

It is undeniable that international news plays an essential part in daily life. Some individuals hold the opinion that a new subject which is related to news from different countries should be promoted in secondary schools; nevertheless, others disagree, believing that it will bring few merits. This essay will shed light on both views and present my own perspective through the following paragraphs.

People who support the significant importance of studying international news may have their own justification. They are of the opinion that international news can furnish students with many benefits. To be more specific, foreign news, especially ones related to trade conflicts between countries, may allow students to know what nations are economically mighty and what nations are destitute. As a result, this information can assist them in the effort to choose which country they ought to support in case of wars. For example, in the past, many low-level students in communist nations were taught about events associated with world war 2 since educators at that time opined that this could make them feel the hostility of intruders.

However, I still side with the second point of view for a couple of reasons. The role of international news cannot be depreciated. However, it is only beneficial for adults whose knowledge and self perspective fully develop. In terms of young generations, particularly primary and secondary pupils, there is more imperative knowledge that they ought to accumulate. To begin with, it is more necessary for secondary students to acquire rudimentary knowledge from core subjects in lieu of putting too much concentration on international news. This is due to the fact that maths is at heart of ameliorating students’ logical thinking ability, which is immensely vital for coming up with new ideas and solutions for problems in not only academic environments but also real lives. Besides, it is through literature that students can have a chance to elucidate their ideas to others in a more succinct way. Additionally, foreign languages, such as English, assist students in the effort to habituate themselves into an overseas setting, especially when globalization is happening unprecedentedly. Thus, these fundamental subjects lay a solid base for a brighter future prospect of students. Secondly, in addition to academic subjects, it is also pivotal for students to sharpen their soft skills, increase their physical health as well as cultivate their moral virtues. To be more detailed, while physical education and other outdoor activities are scientifically proven to teach students skills associated with teamwork, time management, and problem solving, and strengthen their immune systems and boost the growth of muscles, volunteer events show students the significance of being solicitous for other, making them realize that a better world can only be built based on genuine affection, sympathy and sacrifices among people. Thus, if learning international matters is taught during secondary schools, students of these levels cannot have enough time to acquire insights and tremendous benefits from above mentioned subjects and activities, which may underpin not only their future but also the development of society.

In conclusion, several people who want to turn studying international news into a subject for secondary think that it can help them have more insights, especially ones relevant to inharmonious relationships among countries. Nonetheless, I am still in favor of the second view because there are more essential things for young-age students to study before having a good grasp of international affairs.