Some believe that because everyone needs a place to live, governments should provide houses for those who are too poor to afford their own. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people argue that accomodation is a fundamental human need and governments should provide free housing for those who cannot pay for it. While some believe that providing houses for low-income people is a good idea, I strongly disagree with this point of view.

One of the primary problems of providing free houses is the financial burden it would place on governments. Undoubtedly, this kind of investment could lead to the substantial degree of spendings for authorities. This way government would not be able to address the pressing issues of the important areas, such as infrastructure, healthcare, and education. To take, for example, India, the number of people who cannot afford their own houses is extremenly high, and the effort of providing free accomodation there would be challenging, if not impossible. This would require immense public funding, which would result in higher taxes for citizens.

Additionaly, the proposed solution would not be able to solve the root problem of poverty, unemployment, and income inequality. Initially, this concern is rooted in low quality of education and high percentage of unemployed people. Furthermore, such assistance would lead to over-reliance on the government and a lack of motivation. Those who would get free housing would not strive to be higher in social mobility, resulting in the stable poverty proportion in the country.

In conclusion, I firmly believe that providing a free place to live for those who are unable to afford it may be a financial burden for governments, and it would not solve the main cause of poverty.