Some believe that it is beneficial to show foreign films while others feel this can have a negative impact on local culture. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

There have been differing views regarding the impact of showcasing foreign movies. While some argue that it would bring significant advantages, other see it as a harm for local culture. I side with the former.

It is true that displaying movies from other countries can negatively affect the local cultural identity. First, there is a risk of cultural homogenization where global influences overshadow unique local traditions and languages. Moreover, the behaviours in those foreign cultures can sometimes go against the traditional customs. For example, Vietnamese students, after watching some movies about lives of high shool teenagers in the US, may start to dye their hair and do ear-piercing, which violates the rule of many schools in the country. Therefore, it should be considered carefully before introducing a foreign film to local audiences.

However, I contend that this course of action would be more beneficial. Through these kinds of movie, people can learn and integrate the good aspects of other cultures into their own one, fostering the growth of the community. Furthermore, exposing to more developed cinematic industries can help local filmmakers produce better-quality movies. For instance, over many years of adopting many directing and acting techniques from Holywoods, South Korea was finally able to produce their first Oscar-winning movie, Parasites. This is a testament for the great benefits that foreign films can bring to a local community.

In conclusion, while there are some challenges to showing movies from different cultures, I believe that its benefits far outweigh the drawbacks. With a careful revision, countries can enjoy the positive impact of foreign films without losing their cultural identities.