some children find some subjects such as mathematics and philosophy too difficult to learn. so some people argue that those subjects should be optional rathan than compulsory. To what extent do you agree or disagree ?

Some people say that subjects like mathematics and philosophy should be non-compulsory because several children find these subjects hard to learn. This essay intends to explore the main reasons behind my partial agreement in the forthcoming paragraphs with relevant examples; however, I am not completely in accord with the notion because fundamental knowledge of these subjects is crucial for a child’s education.

The first and foremost reason behind my agreement is that children should learn what they find interesting. If children choose subjects of their own choice, they can understand them without difficulty. They will explore the details of the subject and will try to solve the problems they encounter while learning.. Furthermore, students cannot score well in exams because they find it hard to understand some subjects even after trying their best. This leads to demotivation and they feel dejected. For instance, students who have low grades, sometimes suffer from depression, and several times they are unable to handle the pressure and they commit suicide. Hence, children should get a choice to choose the subjects of their own preference.

On the flip side, basic knowledge of every course of study is important. These concepts can be used in daily life activities. To cite an example, mathematics is used in calculations, and philosophy is required to solve many curiosities. These courses tend to enhance critical thinking and analytical skills as they require complex problems to be solved. In addition to this, these subjects can help students to get fair-income jobs as all fair-paying jobs require skills related to maths or philosophy. Therefore, these subjects have been made compulsory for children to learn.

In conclusion, fundamental knowledge of difficult subjects should be given to children and they ought to be provided with an option to choose the subjects according to their interests.