Some cities have vehicle-free days when private cars, trucks and motorcycles are banned from the city center. People are encouraged to use public transportation such as buses, taxis and metro on vehiclefree days. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

It is notable that in some metropolises, people are urged to use public transportation including buses, taxis, and the metro on vehicle-free days to restrict the number of individual means of transport traveling to the central area. Although I agree that this policy has several potential drawbacks, the merits associated with this are more significant.

On the one hand, it is understandable why the implementation of public modes of transportation may pose several disadvantages. To begin with, it can be challenging for people who need to rely on these kinds of transportation due to particular medical needs such as individuals with disabilities or the elderly. This is mainly because the schedule of public transport tends to be fixed, so people with special health conditions may not be able to accept the arrangements as well as receive timely medical treatment. Additionally, the ubiquity of public transportation also triggers paramount obstacles to certain industries. Logistic and transportation companies can be cited as typical examples as the routes to the economic clusters tend to be blocked by public means of transport. This leads to increased costs and reduced revenues, negatively affecting the concomitant businesses.

On the other hand, the advantages of introducing vehicle-free days in urban areas overshadow its downsides. The most obvious one is the improvement in air quality since reducing the number of cars on the road leads to lower levels of harmful emissions such as carbon dioxide and nitrogen oxides. For instance, Beijing is a typical case in point that has implemented vehicle-free days to combat their notorious smog problem, resulting in a noticeable reduction in air pollution. Thanks to that, people can breathe cleaner air, which benefits public health by minimizing the risk of respiratory problems and other health complications. Another plus point of this policy is that it may encourage the authorities to invest in upgrading public transit systems, ultimately making them more attractive to commuters. Consequently, this shift towards public transportation could lead to a long-term decrease in traffic congestion, benefiting both individuals and businesses.

In conclusion, the benefits of vehicle-free days in big cities far outweigh the demerits. By adopting vehicle-free days, cities can take a considerable step towards creating more sustainable, livable, and healthy urban environments for their residents.