Some cities have vehicle-free days when private cars, trucks, and motorcycles are banned from the city center. Public transportation like buses, taxis, and metros are advised. (Do you think the advantages of this policy outweigh the disadvantages?)

Restriction on entering the central areas by using personal vehicles is implemented by various cities. They are encouraging bicycles and public transport instead. While this policy may be inconvenient for people with disabilities, this will positively affect the population’s lifestyle, and I believe that the benefits definitely outweigh the harms.

One major drawback is that people with mobility issues are likely to oppose this policy, as it may be difficult to move through the city. It will be challenging for individuals with physical impairments to get used to this legislation. For example, “Congestion charge” is used in the UK, people must pay approximately 15 dollars just for driving a vehicle within the period of time, this policy may appear to ignore the needs of people with disabilities, If special transport services are not adequately provided.

Nevertheless, the benefit of restricting private cars is far more significant. Such a rule will positively affect the environmental situation in the megapolises. Moreover, fewer vehicles on the roads lead to lower air pollution, which helps reduce disease prevalence, particularly respiratory illnesses among city residents. For example, in Oslo, Norway, the removal of private cars from central areas has significantly reduced pollution and made the city more pedestrian-friendly. Thus, the cleaner the air, the healthier people.

In conclusion, whereas banning private cars from city centres pose some issues to incapacitated individuals, these disadvantages are manageable and limited in scope. Given the focus on healthy lifestyle, environmental quality and spotless cities, the advantages clearly overshadow the disadvantages.