Some claim that studying abroad has great benefits for a student's home country. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some believe that studying overseas is of great benefit for students’ hometown. My conviction is that while there might be some advantages such as well-educated youth, foreign studies often do not bring benefits as students are prone to not return to their home country.

On the one hand, students who graduated abroad can bring a new perspective to the country. Differences in mentality, curriculum and professors often allow foreign students to acquire education with an unusual perspective. For example, while one professor’s method of teaching is conducted primarily via theory, teachers from other countries may rely mostly on practical knowledge. As a result, students learn to observe issues from different views, broadening their horizons which allows them to bring innovations in their own country.

On the other hand, future workpower tends to stay and start working in a foreign country instead of benefiting their motherland. Because of the differences in living standards among countries, students lured by better job prospects and higher income perceive staying as the better choice. For example, global companies such as Google often can provide a better working environment compared to the local ones. As a result, students with great potential prefer to work in a foreign country rather than coming back leaving their homeland without benefits of their studies.

In conclusion, while foreign students might benefit their country by bringing new ideas, home countries often do not profit as students opt for working in other countries .