Some consumers are increasingly choosing to buy goods that are produced in their local area, rather than imported goods. What are the reasons for this? Is this a positive or a negative trend?

Nowadays, the preference of choosing items from local market has been increasing than the imported goods. There are several reasons for that scenario and I will discuss it in further paragraph.

First of all, people are buying products from local market as it boosts the economy of that area and there are many campaigns going on by the government of particular part of the country to promote local vendors. It also allows small businesses to sell more and more products to increase their revenue. The second benefit for this is, it saves the environment to be polluted. Imported goods often travels a lot and it increase the fuel consumption and pollution. In cotrast, locally produced goods require less transportation and it saves time and energy both. As the environmental concern grows, people choose to buy goods from local suppliers.

In addition, some consumers believe that locally sourced items are more fresh and good in quality, specially the food products. Imported food products have preservatives and other chemicals to prevent them from spoil and keep them fresh. These chemicals are not good for health and sometimes it causes disease as well. In recent years, people are more concerned about their health and they do not want to take risk in that so they prefer to buy fruits and vegetables from market. Moreover, frozen food items is not always a healthy option for all.

Overall, this trend has more positive effects than the negative as it is environmentally friendly, increase economy and gives more healthy options. Although imported goods provide more unique options and sometimes it is cheaper as well, products from the local market has more benefits.