Some ex-prisoners commit crimes after being released from prison. What do you think is the cause? How can it be solved?

It is often said some former inmates perpetrate crimes in their post-incarceration life. Lack of rehabilitation process in prison and psychological trauma and mental health issues may lead to these repercussions. To deal with these problems, comprehensive rehabilitation programs and mandatory mental health care during and after imprisonment should be implemented.

One of the possible reason of reoffending crimes after being released from prison is insufficiency of rehabilitation programs, especially in prisons. As more prisons work in conventional approach which release prisioner without any necessary skills or mindset to reintegrate into society. This implies that without educational trainings or physchological counseling, ex-prisioners have a possibility revert to crime as their particular option as their mindset. The primary example would be American prisons in 20th century which focused mainly on punitive measures rather than rehabilitation process. This lack of rehabilitation facilitated to massive recidivism, as ex-prisioners rebounded to past enviroments and behaviours that led them to crime in the first place. One possible solution to reform prisons in comprehensive rehabilitation programs which specifically emphasizes education, skill-building and psychological support, may lead to lower crime rates after this process. For instance, Norway’s prison system allocated main budget to rehabilitation programs, leading to one of the lowest recidivism rates in the world. Therefore, application of rehabilitation programs could be benefecial to avert deterrent to crime of prisons.

Ex-prisoners often confront societal stigma, making it difficult for them to find employment, housing, and social acceptance, making it another primary concern. This exclusion can push them back into criminal activities as they experienced in the past. For example, in post-World War II Germany, former Nazis and collaborators faced significant social stigma, which in some cases led them to associate with extremist groups or commit crimes due to social and economic exclusion. One of the relevant ways to tackle this issue is implementing social reintegration programs and anti-discrimination laws that support ex-prisoners in finding employment and housing. As a result, it can be effective for each ex-prison who want to make money for living.

In conclusion, while lacking rehabilitation programs and stigmatization and social exclusion can be seen as today’s recvidisim, applying educational and skill-based and reintegration programs and supportive laws can be effective solution to avert each recvidisim.