Some experts believe it is better for animals to live in zoos where they are safe and given all the food they need. Do the advantages of keeping anilmas in zoos outweigh the disadvantages?

Many different types of wild animals can be seen in zoological gardens. Some experts say that the animals living there are secure and well-fed. In my opinion, this perspective is a bit one-sided.

Animals face fewer problems in a zoo than in wild nature. They do not have to find food every day because zoo staff give their food consistently. Natural disasters, such as droughts and wildfires, do not harm them. There are no poachers looking for them. In addition, visitors to the zoo watch and learn about the animals. After leaving the zoo, people can be more careful about the fate of the animals. They may establish charities and other organisations specialising in protecting animals. Moreover, the organisations can not only try to protect zoo animals but also wild animals. Thus, zoos have a positive impact on animals.

However, it may not be true for all countries. It is in developed countries that lives of animals matter. In developing countries, not all people care about animals in zoos. For instance, in my country, Uzbekistan, I have seen a zoo tiger eating a piece of bread. The zoo administration does not feed the animals there well. The cages are small, and it definitely affects the mental health of animals. Visitors may care, but they do nothing to improve the living conditions there. I think the problem is that most zoos are private. In reservations, the staff cares about them because there is governmental control. There are no cages there, and animals move freely. Therefore, zoos can be a good place, but reservations are better.

In conclusion, it is true that food and security are guaranteed in zoos, but there can be nuances, such as not feeding well and carelessness of the zoo staff. In my view, the lives of animals should not depend on the zoo administration.