Some experts say for road safety cyclists should pass a test before being allowed on public roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is not uncommon to see people pedal on roads, regardless of their cycling ability. However, some professionals propose that proper testing should be extended to bicycle users in order to ensure safety in traffic, with which I completely agree for several reasons.

One compelling justification for the introduction of testing is that a lack of it exempts bicycle riders from having any knowledge or responsibility when they go outside. As participants in the shared transportation ecosystem, the notion of personal accountability in which vehicular drivers exercise caution and adhere to established traffic rules is not only an expectation; it is integral to the safety of all road users as well. Nonetheless, current regulations do not mandate any tests to assess whether cyclists take on that responsibility or not. This has contributed to an increase in cycling-related accidents, often resulting in severe injuries or even fatalities. With proper testing, there is hope that cyclists might understand why they should follow traffic regulations, thus reducing potential dangers to themselves and other people.

In addition, a standardized examination for cyclists could serve to elevate the status of cycling as a legitimate mode of transport. Apparently, there exists pervasive societal bias against this two-wheeled vehicle. Most adults may diminish the perceived validity of bicycles, either as they often relegate such a means of transport to mere toys for children rather than viable adult transportation or as they associate bicyles with low economic and social status, in contrast with motorbikes and automobiles. Giving bicycle users a proper test can encourage a cultural shift toward cycling, giving way to a greener living space in urban areas.

In summary, proper testing for cyclists gives them the knowledge and responsibility to navigate carefully in traffic, as well as legitimizing a solution to environmental issues in specific regions. For public safety and a greener living space, it is essential that bicycles are taken more seriously.