Some experts say for road safety cyclists should pass a test before being allowed on public roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Certain experts believe that cyclists ought to pass a test before being allowed on public roads to ensure road safety. While there are some reasonable reasons to implement this rule, I firmly believe that all people should be able to ride bicycles without passing any tests.

Undeniably, if cyclists had to pass a test before being eligible to ride bicycles, the public roads would become safer for people. The primary reason for that is the fact that cyclists often have to share roads with other larger vehicles, such as cars, buses, and trucks. Therefore, it is essential for them to learn the basic rules of the road and pass a test before being allowed to ride on them, decreasing the number of serious accidents on the roads. The second reason is that passing a test will be more likely to teach cyclists how to ride safely. For example, they will be taught how to ride safely in heavy traffic or at night, ensuring safety for other drivers.

However, I would argue that it is more fair to allow people to drive even without passing a test. First and foremost, cycling is eco-friendly and should be encouraged more by the government. For instance, if more individuals rode bicycles instead of private cars or public transport, the number of vehicles on the roads would decrease, improving air pollution. Secondly, bicycles are usually accessible for everyone, despite their age or financial opportunities; thus, more people can afford them. However, requiring a test before allowing people to ride on roads might make cycling less prevalent among people.

In conclusion, even though the introduction of a test before allowing people to ride on bicycles on roads can promote safety, I would argue that it is essential to give more people opportunities to cycle without having to pass a test.