Some feel that punishment should focus more on rehabilitation instead of long prison terms. Others feel prison terms are important for social stability. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

The number of prison inmates has been growing steadily worldwide. This reflects intrinsic fissures in the social fabric, like low levels of education and difficulties in reaching financial stability. It is thus argued that, instead of long prison terms authorities should focus more on rehabilitation. From my personal perspective, I believe that rehabilitation and education are the most effective measures against crime rise.

On the one hand, advocates of long prison terms claim that detention is a better solution. In fact, it is not, and it has been shown by highly developed countries like Norway, where the crime rate has declined dramatically after lawmakers focused on providing better opportunities for citizens with low skills or with mental disorders. Nonetheless, it is true that some violent criminals will likely not rehabilitate, even with the best social security programs. For example, psychopaths are prone to disruptive behaviours, which are scientifically proven to be related to brain alterations in many cases. Hence, for these kinds of criminals, long terms should be applied, but they will need medical assistance too. Finally, if it was possible to treat them from childhood, society would benefit a lot.

On the other hand, it is clear that rehabilitation or medical treatments are better ways to deal with criminality. Yet, that is not all, given that literacy might be a factor that decreases further the risks of young people finding life in crime. It can seal the holes that drag youngsters to an outlaw lifestyle by showing them that everything is possible and, despite any familial or local issues, a harmonious connection with society is achievable. For instance, when kids are taught humanized caring and learn job skills, they become better citizens and do not feel the need to make their income in improper ways. Therefore, if authorities focused on schooling, a fall in crime rate would certainly happen, and consequently fewer prisons and social exclusions.

In conclusion, in my opinion, long prison terms are not as important as rehabilitation for social stability. Also, I firmly support the idea that education is, by all means, the most effective measure against criminality. Punishment and vigilance are necessary, but society would benefit more from humanized caring for those who need assistance.