Some organisations believe that their employees should dress smartly. Others value quality of work above appearance. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Many companies argue that work performance is more important than appearance. On the other side, others believe that their workers have to dress appropriately for their professions. In my opinion, a uniform could determine someone’s identity and affect others’ judgment. However, quality of work is something that has to be acquired by workers too.

First of all, a uniform presents itself as a dress code. Many people’s first judgment is toward somebody else based on how they are looking. It determines if you pay attention to yourself or not and makes people analyze whether you will be able to be professional in your job. The Human Resource Development section in a company would put their first assessment toward the worker candidates through their appearance; this is what we call’standard procedure’. As a result, many companies think that dress is important in the world of work.

On the other side of this argument, other companies believe that appearance is not the most important factor in working. That is the capability to take responsibility for their duty as an employee, which should be prioritized instead of used, since someone’s ability does not depend on their clothes. Take architecture as an example; the design that is produced would not change if he used another garment. To sum up, clothes would not have a significant effect on someone’s quality of work.

However, in my opinion, I believe that both quality and appearance are important in the professional world. We have to accomplish the skills needed in our work in order to do our duty in the office very well, which will support our career. In addition, a good appearance will build a good impression on us, so other people will find it more comfortable to collaborate with us.

In conclusion, while other debates exist about the importance of dressing and the quality of work, I do believe that a professional worker has to be properly dressed to improve their prestige in others’ eyes and should possess the required skill.