Some people argue that because the Internet makes it so easy for children to access facts, schools should not focus on teaching facts. Instead, they should focus on developing children’s skills and potential, and their relationships with other people. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Having knowledge at the palm of your hands is powerful, since it can be accessible on any electronic device anytime and anywhere. While the vision of students developing skills is commendable, learning about facts should still be considered to significant extents.

Reference to real life occupations like doctors, they are the embodiment of attaining both knowledge and skills to succeed. Doctors need skills to perform complex surgery techniques, but they also need the knowledge to diagnose illness and disease quickly. Accessing knowledge via the internet is plausible; however, it takes prior knowledge to navigate and select trusted and accurate information for higher success rate. In another instance, a lawyer can develop communication skills that can provide an edge in the courtroom. Regardless, having knowledge of policies and past court cases can be more valuable to convince the judge and the jury. In real life situations, remembering vital knowledge can still be an advantage. Coupled with skills, a person can achieve greater heights than those without.

Knowledge is indeed vast on the internet, but not all can be understood easily. Some information can be simple facts, some can be intricate, connected by other information leading to new understandings that cannot be understood by a normal person in a short period of time. To further understand this complex knowledge, a strong foundation of knowledge can allow learners to comprehend jargon in a specific field, which guides them much faster to comprehension.

Wrapping up, some might say skills are more important in practical application, but a foundational knowledge level can aid in many ways. It still has value in the ever changing society.